About Angola
Business Opportunities
Visa Application
Embassy Info
About India

The Government

The President of the Republic

The President of the Republic is the head of State. He represents the nation domestically and internationally. He ensures compliance with the constitution and is the commander in chief of the Angolan Armed Forces.

The President is elected in a direct election, by an absolute majority of votes to a five-year term of office. If no one candidate obtains an absolute majority of votes, a run-off election is held between the top two candidates.

The President may be re-elected for two consecutive or discontinuous terms.

The National Assembly

The National Assembly has 223 deputies elected by popular vote for a 4-year period.

The President may appoint the Prime Minister, ministers of government, the Central Bank Governor, the Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces, the Attorney General and judges. The President presides over the Council of Ministers and the Council of the Republic. He or she can declare war, make peace, and sign and promulgate laws approved by the National Assembly.

The Council of the Republic

The National Assembly is the highest governmental body in Angola and represents the sovereign will of the Angolan people. It promotes the implementation of the objectives of the state, legislates and makes decisions on basic questions relating to the State's life.

The Assembly's jurisdiction includes making changes in the constitutional law, approving laws, the proposal of the Government, the National Plan and the general state budget. The National Assembly also monitors, at supreme level, the actions of the government and of the other State organs.

The National Assembly also authorizes the government to contract and grant loans, approves international treaties, grants amnesties and authorizes the President to declare war and make peace. Council of the Republic The Council of the Republic is the political consultative body of the President of the Republic. The Council of the Republic is presided over by the President of the Republic and consists of the President of the National Assembly, the President of the Constitutional Court, the Attorney General, the former President of the Republic, the Presidents of the political parties represented in the National Assembly, and ten citizens appointed by the President. The Council of the Republic is the executive body of the National Assembly, and its work consists of guiding the State's entire administrative apparatus. The Council of the Republic provides its views on the dissolution of the National Assembly, the resignation of the government, the declaration of war and the making of peace and on acts of the interim President of the Republic.